National Citizenship Service

While Parliament is in Recess I have more time to spent at home, in my constituency. Over the last couple of weeks I have enjoyed meeting people on their doorsteps in Goonhaven and Holywell Bay as well as visiting a wide range of local organisations from charities to local businesses. My weekly surgeries continue through the recess too.

Each year, a highlight of my summer is joining local young people taking part in the National Citizenship Service (NCS). Open to all 16 and 17-year-olds, it helps build skills for work and life, while they take on new challenges and meet new friends.

Last week I caught up with a group of local young people participating in the NCS, at the excellent local charity Young People Cornwall, at Zebs Cafe, in Truro. I learned that in their first week they had lived with their team at an outdoor activity centre taking on some adrenaline-fuelled challenges. During the second week, it was time to discover something new as they spent some time away from home, often for the first time, learning to cook, meeting local organisations and developing valuable skills such as teamwork, leadership and communication.

I met them during the last couple of weeks of the programme where they brought together their experiences and delivered their own social action project, in this case supporting the work of St Petroc’s with homeless people. I can’t put it better than the young people I listened to – it’s “a life changing” opportunity.

Congratulations to Cornwall College and Young People Cornwall for delivering the NSC here, enabling over 100 young people from across Cornwall, from different backgrounds, to spend time together, learning new skills that not only benefit them but us all. I encourage all Year 12 students to sign-up in October.

